Tags

, , ,

The other day I offered Steve, the manager at Universe of Superheroes, to contribute some comic-related content to their blog when they get the new website up and running. I’ve flirted with comic reviews on this site in the past but never felt they got the attention they deserved. I’m excited to get back into it, if for no other reason than to force myself back into making weekly trips to the best little comic shop in Jacksonville!

I was going to wait until everything was set up before I resurrected The Pull List, but an opportunity to get back into not only comic-related posting, but personal blogging in general fell into my lap. On Saturday I was perusing my Twitter feed when I noticed that Greg Rivera, President and Co-Owner of Mishka NYC, was going to be at a comics and collectibles show in DeLand on Sunday. First of all, Mishka not only accounts for over half of my wardrobe these days, it’s also an amazing lifestyle brand that I admittedly attempt to emulate with about 90% of my marketing efforts. It’s been a goal of mine for some time to work on some sort of collaboration between BURRO and Mishka and recently, through the efforts of my gregarious, convivial best bud, Zack Fortune (aka FUROCHE), that dream has come closer to fruition, although the details of which are both classified and essentially nonexistent. Recognizing the rare and fortuitous opportunity to interface with the founder and builder of my most revered brand, I @ replied him via the BURRO Twitter account enquiring as to the specifics of the wares he would be peddling at said event, to which he replied:

gregmishka
@burrobags vintage toys and shite. If you had time come down well talk about collab
All I needed to here! A golden opportunity had presented itself to meet Greg personally and see what we could make happen while simulataneously providing some content for the blog. Plus, believe it or not, I had never been to a comic show before! I made arrangements to borrow a vehicle and departed for Central Florida.
The event was the DeLand Comic & Collectibles Show, hosted by Central Florida Collectibles whose mission I can appreciate.
CFCollectibles was created to bring back the fun, medium-sized, inexpensive show that got lost in the e-Bay, internet decade. We want to bring back that face-to-face seller/buyer interaction where you can handle the item you are buying, not look at two photos and have to guess at its condition. We want you to be able to meet a few artists or celebrities without having to pay “an arm and a leg” for an autograph. And most of all we want to provide all this for less than what you typically pay for shipping on eBay!
The show was held at the Volusia County Fairgrounds, a surprisingly well-equipped facility that seemed to be hosting multiple shows that day. The comic and collectibles show was housed in one of the smaller buildings and boasted somewhere around 30 or so vendors and a few creators and guest “celebrities,” most of whom I was not familiar with.
Image
Image
Image
I made my rounds, checking out some of the different booths before approaching Greg and was pretty impressed with what I found. I didn’t really have the patience to flip through boxes of comics, especially since I wasn’t looking for anything in particular but there were tons of cool toys that brought back plenty of childhood memories and several newer ones that I drooled over as well.
Image
Image
Image
Image
I got so excited over these He-Man figures and Skeletor’s Castle in particular that I texted my little brother the pic. Our uncle bought us that play-castle with rat-face microphone when we were kids and it remained at our grandmother’s house for years, until someone got rid of it all. Wish we would have had the foresight to keep all that stuff!
Image
Image
Damn near copped a few of these Blackest Night badboys.
Image
And this SD Comic Con exclusive Flash was calling my name too.
Image
It took every bit of will power I had not to snatch this old Creepy book and Wolverine #1 in Near Mint Condition!
Image
Image
I did end up going home with a nice stack of Garbage Pail Kids cards and these G.I. Joe Mighty Muggs which are now perched above my desk.
Image
I met up with Greg and we talked shop for a bit. While nothing is solid yet, whatever we do come up with is going to be some next-level shit, I can tell you that much. Turns out ol’ boy is about as approachable and down-to-earth as they come, not what you might expect from the head of one of the most happening apparel brands in Brooklyn.
CFCollectibles will be hosting another show in Largo on March 18th. I’ll probably just wait until the next DeLand show but now that I have some new items to collect, I will be checking out every show I can make it to between here and Orlando from now on!
