Tags

, , ,

I came home last weekend to a giant order of new records and CDs. It’s taken me some time just to get through all of them but I definitely have a few favorites to share.

First among them is Peer Amid from Sweden’s The Skull Defekts. This album finds them joining forces with labelmate Daniel Higgs formerly of the Dischord band Lungfish. I wasn’t familiar with Lungfish before hearing this record but it’s sounding like something I need to dig deeper into.

Anyhow, it’s a match made in Hades. There’s a subtle drone element that results from the rhythmic and vocal repetition. It reminds me of many things at once including Joy Division, Sonic Youth, Lou Reed and The Black Angels. There’s a heaviness that doesn’t conflict with the psychedelic melodies and results in something hypnotic and mesmerizing.

Comes to us from Thrill Jockey, available in CD and LP. Really digging the watercolor album art!

I’m only on my second listen but I think there will no doubt be many many more rotations in this album’s future.

Most of the other albums are on CDs at the office so hopefully I’ll get a chance to tackle them tomorrow.

