Last year I made a list of New Year’s Reolutions. I feel I’ve made a lot of moves, grown as a person, and learned a lot this past year but I’d be remiss not to examine the way I envisioned 2009, especially since I went ahead and put it all out there. Here’s my list from last year with commentary:

  • quit smoking
  • Nope.

  • cook at least 2X/week
  • Haven’t had a stove since May. Getting one this week though so hopefully that will change

  • drive no more than 3 places/week
  • Started off strong but completely punked out as soon as the weather went all disagreeable. This year, I’ll go with something less concrete. Bike more.

  • run a 10K
  • Heh, no. Over it.

  • participate in a bike race
  • Did it. Got second place.

  • learn to screen print
  • I mean, I pretty much got the gist of it but much to learn and a legitimate reason to this year.

  • start a business
  • Got the warehouse up and running. Good enough for me.

  • join/start a band
  • You know it!

  • blog at least once a week
  • I may not have blogged on this site once a week, but I definitely wrote something at least once a week. Once again, good enough for me.

  • finish associates degree
  • Yup.

  • learn to solder
  • We’ll throw this one back on the list for this year

  • build my own bike
  • Rebuilt. I think that qualifies.

  • go to Amsterdam
  • Unfortunately not. Did visit Panama though. This year it will simply be, visit a foreign country instead.

  • host an art show
  • Tote ’em if you got ’em. Still got a living room full of art if you want it back. I’d be more than happy to keep it as a birthday present if you don’t want it 😉

  • hop a train
  • Not necessary. This year it will be to bike somewhere else, a mini-tour I guess.

  • don’t get fat again
  • Debatable. Definitely making a better effort of it this year.

  • buy music only on vinyl
  • For the most part, I totally did. Even to the point of missing out on some good stuff. I can probably count on one hand the number of non-vinyl music purchases I made this year. Okay, maybe two hands but still. While vinyl shall remain the format of choice, I am opening myself to all formats with the intention of amassing a cassette tape collection. I get handed tapes all the time these days. I’m sure it’s real cliché of me to say that, I don’t care and you can accept my invitation to suck it.

  • redesign blog
  • I changed the template. Not what I had in mind, but I’m not that worried about it anymore.

  • love more
  • Lord knows I’ve tried. Devil knows I did.

A lot of folks have been harshing on 2009, at least on their Facebooks and Twitters and such. Don’t get me wrong, 2009 was rough. It had it’s share of failures, heart-aches, and all-around bummers but for me, it was a damn good one. I wouldn’t trade the experiences I had and the friends and acquaintances I met for anything in the world. I love you all. If I wronged you in any way, I apologize and request a clean slate. Let’s be friends. There’s not a single person I regret meeting or spending time with last year. We all probably did a lot of wrong things, but we did some shit right too.

So moving on. Onwards and upwards. What to do about this exciting new decade? Is it a new decade? I think decades get to work differently than century and millennia. Everybody thought 2000 was the first year of the 21st century but it was really 2001. But I think decades get to start with 0, ya know like you still call 1970, “the seventies.” But I digress.

I think 2010 is going to be something awesome. We have a new slate and if last year sucked for you, then let your resolution be to simply make this year better, even if it’s only in the way you perceive it. I’m going to go ahead and share my resolutions again and maybe you can help hold me to them this year. I’m going from über-specific to vague and flexible.

  • Eat better – to include eating only one serving of meat per day, being aware of the contents of my food, and avoiding fast food if at all possible
  • Drive less – if the weather is even remotely agreeable and the location is bikeable, going to bike it
  • Keep The Devil’s Playground alive and sustainable – so far so good, but I still end up paying out of pocket each month to keep it going. I’ll need the public’s help but I’ll do my best to make the shows the best possible, while helping every band possible that wants to contribute.
  • Release something on vinyl – Split 7″, LP, compilation, anything; I just want it on wax!
  • Go back to school – had some obstacles this past year but should all be resolved now.
  • Make some decent money -I’ve had a good run of getting by and doing a little of this and a little of that. I have a fairly decent idea of what I enjoy doing and how to do it. It’s time to start figuring out how to make a decent living doing all these things while keeping the spirit of them alive. All the while, avoiding a “real job.”
  • Step up my game – from drumming to writing to marketing and everything in between, if I really am going to pursue any of these things, it’s time to get serious. The party ain’t over by any means but it’s time to grow up just a little bit.
  • Make a mixtape a month – whether it’s a digital one to share with the public, a CD or cassette for a friend, or whatever; this year I want to physically share more music – the old-fashioned way.
  • Host another art show – I’ll try anything twice.
  • Visit another country – probably Brazil.
  • Start a musical solo project of some sort – we’ll see what happens, doesn’t have to be solo either.
  • Take a bike trip – doesn’t have to be too far, maybe St. Augustine or Gainesville to start.
  • I could go on, but those are the big ones. I can definitely tell you that every project I am involved with has exciting plans for the Oh Ten, or twentyten, or just 10 or whatever we’re calling it. Just look at all the great things that have happened this year. From Infintesmal Records to The Sinclair to RAM to the Wambolt Warehouses to Whacksonville, there were some pretty sweet things that started up and became awesome during one of the hardest years to anything as long as any of us has been able to do anything about it. 2010 will only see more cultural growth, better music, and hopefully more originality across the board. I’m pretty dang ol’ stoked on it!

