Alright, welcome to the trimmed-down version of The Pull List. I selected 3 new books this week, all #1s I had never even heard of before. There was a ton of great shot out this week so I’ll list everything I bought but just review these 3. Up, up, and away!



The Mighty #1 (DC)
By Peter Tomasi, Keith Champagne, and Peter Snejbjerg
Peter Tomasi was editor for Green Lantern and currently writes Green Lantern Corps so I was pretty stoked to see what this would be about. It doesn’t take place in th DC Universe but in a “real world” setting where there is only one superhero, Alpha One. This hero was a seaman who fell overboard during some nuclear bomb testing and developed super powers. Super-powered sailor? Hell yeah, I’m tracking. Years later a police force, Omega, is established to assist and clean up after the hero. The head of the organization is murdered and a young lieutenant is promoted to the top spot. The circumstances of the death seem a little fishy and you get the feeling that the hero might not be such a good guy after all.
I can’t tell if I’m going to follow this or not. On the one hand it feels like something that’s been done before but i get the sense that there is more to this than I’m seeing right now. Bottom line is it isn’t a great first issue that really hooks you. I just know I am going to feel like an idiot if I pass it off and miss a big payoff but these are tough times and I can’t afford to not be picky about which books I buy these days ya know?



Bang! Tango #1 (Vertigo)
By Joe Kelly and Adrian Sibar
Vertigo very rarely steers me wrong. If you didn’t know, it’s DC’s mature emprint with such titles under its belt as Sandman, Y: The Last Man, Fables, 100 Bullets, etc. The only thing I don’t like about it is the newsprint they print on. Sometimes it makes it feel more gritty but sometimes it just seems cheap. Anyway, this book threw me for a loop. It starts with some guy on the run in NYC, obviously mixed up in some kind of organized crime. There is the obligatory foul language and then fast-forward and the same guy is teaching tango lessons on the West Coast. A woman from his past shows up asking for help as she’s being blackmailed. He eventually gives in and the last page is a WTF-type splash that will leave you scratching your head but not necessarily wanting more.
I seriously don’t see this taking off like some of the Vertigo titles I mentioned earlier. In other words, skip it. Oops, just noticed a mini-series. Still skip it.

Golem #1 (Studio 407)
By Scott Barkman, Jeff Lee, and Mark Louie Vuycankiat
I’ve never even heard of this company! I guess it was the cover and the Ain’t It Cool blurb that hooked me, but it seemed worth a shot. Of the three I’ve talked about today, this one was the best. It takes place in Sarajevo just as things went to shit. A bookish occult-obsessed nerd builds a golem to enact justice and vengeance on the soldiers who killed his crush. The golem is extremely effective at its job but the spell was botched and when he gets a little out of control, he won’t be stopped. In essence he sees the world in black and white and refuses to tone down his zeal. In the end he parts ways with his creator and heads underground.
The book is billed as a one-shot but there are loose ends that need to be tied up so it feels as though it may continue one day. I’m particularly curious to see what the deal is with the chick with mystical tattoos. If you can find this one, you might want to give it a shot. The art is pretty awesome with a slight anime feel and it’s just a little something different from the capes and whatnot.

So in addition to those, I also picked up:
Final Crisis: Legion of 3 Worlds #3
Agents of Atlas #1
Secret Warriors #1
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 #22
The Sandman: The Dream Hunters #4
Jonah Hex #40
Secret Six #6
The Invincible Iron Man #10
Presidential Material: Barack Obama
Adventure Comics #0
No Hero #1 (an older one)

Yeah, I know, it’s a huge stack. Going to have to start cutting back soon. I should mention that all these were purchased at my neighborhood Universe of Superheroes
comic shop on Park Street in Riverside. See you next week!

